Skip to main content


Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) and TELPAS Alternate

A federally required assessment program designed to measure the annual progress that ELLs make in learning academic English in grades K - 12.

General Information about TELPAS

  • TELPAS assesses students in alignment with the Texas English Language Proficiency Standards (ELPS)

  • There are four language domains used to assess TELPAS: listening, speaking, reading, and writing

  • Student performance is reported in terms of the four English language proficiency levels: beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high

  • TELPAS results are used in accountability and performance-based monitoring indicators

Eligibility Requirements

  • All K-12 ELLs, including those whose parents declined bilingual/ESL program services (denials/PEIMS code C) are assessed annually

  • There are rare circumstances in which a student served by special education may not be required to participate in one or more TELPAS language domains.


TELPAS Alternate

Required Training for TELPAS Alternate

Use the links below to access training resources. More information is available on TEA's site.


TELPAS Alternate Parent Resources

Use the following links to access parent resources.


TELPAS Manuals and Guides




TEA Forms